Composers under the tree of God - Art-Music in Ghana 52:00 min

Portrait of African Art music in Ghana

A film by Hanne Kaisik-Aumüller and Uli Aumüller

Documentary for Bavarian TV 1995
Camera: Toni Sulzbeck/ Sound: Marc Parisotto/ Film Editor: Miroslaw Perna
PAL Beta SP 4:3, 52 min., Stereo

For a long time a preconceived notion existed that African people do nothing but play drums and dance. This film speaks out against this prejudice. Not only are there different forms of popular and ethnological music in Africa, numerous African composers of serious music also work on an alternative to European classical music. Music that has never been heard of in Europe. Up till now!

Africa’s Johann Sebastian Bach is the Ghanaian composer Dr. Ephrahim Amu, who died in January 1995 at the age of 96. Although this news wasn't worth a single line in European media, it was a serious loss for Africa. In the early thirties, Dr. Ephrahim Amu became the first African composer whose written compositions were performed in public. It was the first time an African composer connected classical European music with African texts and traditions.

Amu was not alone, however. His pupils and the pupils of his pupils continue his work. When Hanne Kaisik and Uli Aumüller started to trace the life of Dr. Amu, they discovered an extremely rich and diversely developed musical culture, the very existence of which has been thoroughly ignored in Europe.

Ghana, for example, has two different symphony orchestras, a classical European one, and one which is made up of African instruments. The repertoire of these orchestras includes not only Haydn and Mozart, but also the works of contemporary African composers. Alongside chamber music (for European, African and mixed ensembles), there is an emphasis on choral music, because nowhere in the world are there so many choirs as in Africa. (Over 1000 in Accra alone!)

The film "Composers under the Tree of God" not only introduces a number of contemporary Ghanaian composers and excerpts from there works, but also examines the history of African classical music and the latest developments in present-day aesthetic debate. First and foremost, Africa is trying to break away from European models and to find its own way, an African way of identity and self-confidence. The film also examines the social conditions under which music is composed and instruments are played in Africa.

-The National Symphony Orchestra of Ghana plays the Accra Symphony by Nicholas Zinzendorf Najo under their chief conductor, Kwasi Adounun.

-The Pan African Orchestra (a symphony orchestra with exclusively African instruments) performs the New Africa Symphony, composed and conducted by its founder, Nana Dansu Abiam.

- The Ghanaian pianist Vincent Richter interprets the Volta Fantasy by music ethnologist Prof. Kwabena Nketia (a close friend of the Munich composer Carl Orff).

-The Nima Presbyterian Church Choir sings one of the four-part choral compositions by the legendary Dr. Ephrahim Amu.

-The Adyemma Choral Group sings one of the more than 1000 choir songs composed by one of the most prolific Ghanaian church composers, Rev. Br. Pius Agyemang.

- The ensemble of the jazz guitar player and musician at the Royal Court of Ashanti, Ko Nimo, plays one of his bebop songs in which re-imported American jazz and African tradition artistically overlap.

Further informations (in german):
Radioprogram 45 min. Mp3

Komponisten unter dem Götterbaum 52:00 min

Film über komponierte klassische Musik aus Ghana

Lange bestand das Vorurteil, in Afrika werde nur getrommelt und getanzt. Dieser Film räumt mit diesem Vorurteil endgültig auf. Denn neben den verschiedenen Formen der populären und ethnologischen Musik arbeiten zahlreiche Komponisten afrikanischer E–Musik an einer Alternative zur europäischen Klassik. Nur hat man in Europa von dieser Musik noch nie etwas gehört. Bis jetzt!

Im Januar 1995 verstarb im hohen Alter von 96 Jahren der Johann Sebastian Bach von Afrika– der ghanaische Komponist Dr. Ephrahim Amu. Den europäischen Medien war diese Botschaft keine Zeile wert – Für Afrika ist es ein schwerer Verlust. War doch Dr. Ephrahim Amu der erste Komponist in Afrika, der Anfang der 30er Jahre mit notierten Kompositionen an die Öffentlichkeit trat. Erstmals verknüpfte ein afrikanischer Komponist klassische europäische Musik mit afrikanischen Texten und Traditionen.

Jedoch Amu war kein Einzelgänger. Seine Schüler und Schülersschüler setzen sein Werk fort. Als Hanne Kaisik–Aumüller und Uli Aumüller sich auf die Spurensuche nach dem Leben von Dr. Amu begaben, entdeckten sie ein überaus reich und vielfältig entwickeltes Musikleben, dessen bloße Existenz in Europa bislang völlig ignoriert wurde.

So verfügt allein Ghana über zwei verschiedene Symphonieorchester, ein klassisch europäisches und eines, das nur mit afrikanischen Instrumenten besetzt ist. Das Repertoire dieser Orchester umfasst nicht nur Haydn und Mozart, sondern auch Kompositionen afrikanischer Zeitgenossen. Neben der Kammermusik (für europäische, afrikanische und gemischte Ensembles) steht vor allem der Chorgesang im Vordergrund, denn nirgendwo in der Welt gibt es so viele Chöre wie in Afrika. (Allein in Accra über 1000!)

Der Film „Komponisten unter dem Götterbaum“ stellt nicht nur eine Reihe ghanaischer zeitgenössischer Komponisten und Ausschnitte ihrer Werke vor – sondern er beleuchtet darüber hinaus die Geschichte der afrikanischen Klassik und den Stand der gegenwärtigen ästhetischen Diskussion. Vor allem versucht sich Afrika von den europäischen Vorbildern zu lösen, und einen eigenen Weg, den Weg afrikanischer Selbstbewusstheit zu finden. - Der Film geht ein auf die sozialen Bedingungen, unter denen in Afrika komponiert und musiziert wird.

- Das National Symphony Orchestra of Ghana spielt unter der Leitung ihres Chefdirigenten Kwasi Adounun die Accra–Symphony von Nicholas Zinzendorf Najo.

- Das Pan African Orchestra (ein Symphonieorchester mit ausschließlich afrikanischen Instrumenten) spielt unter der Leitung ihres Gründers Nana Dansu Abiam dessen New Africa Symphony.

- Der ghanaische Pianist Vincent Richter interpretiert die Volta Fantasy des Musikethnologen Prof. Kwabena Nketia (ein enger Freund des Münchner Komponisten Carl Orff).

- Der Nima Presbyterian Church Choir singt eine der vierstimmigen Chorkompositionen des legendären Dr. Ephrahim Amu.

- Die Adyemma Choral Group singt eines der über 1000 Chorlieder eines der produktivsten ghanaischen Kirchenkomponisten, Rev. Br. Pius Agyemang.

- Das Ensemble des Jazzgitarristen und Musikers am Königshof der Ashanti, Ko Nimo, spielt eines seiner Bebop–Lieder, in dem sich reimportierter amerikanischer Jazz und afrikanische Tradition kunstvoll überlagern.

Nähere Informationen:
Radiosendung 45 min. Mp3