Fazil Say - Alla Turca 42:00 min

Portrait of the turkish pianist and composer Fazil Say

a film by Gösta Courkamp

ZDF/ARTE DigiBETA 42min stereo

Fazil Say, piano
Sertab Erener, voice
Bilkent Symphony Orchestra, Ankara

The reputation and international standing of the pianist Fazil Say have developed rapidly. He has mastered the hurdle from child prodigy to an internationally successful star and the French newspaper "Le Figaro" has claimed: "He is not only a brilliant pianist, but he will undoubtedly become one of the great artists of the 21st century."

Unbelievable power and an absolute technical perfection are his distinguishing trademark. Say has a striking head found only seldom in the classical market and he has been blessed with an abundance of talent.

Turkey is approaching Europe and in the other direction Fazil Say can be considered an ambassador for classical music in Turkey. He brings Bach and Beethoven to Anatolia; he composes music in which classical influences, Turkish folk-lore and jazz elements blend together, and with his concerts and his own compositions he fills concert halls and arenas with thousands of listeners - a phenomenon which in this form is hardly imaginable in Europe.

We have followed Fazil Say's invitation to his home country and accompany him for a while - over the Bosporus Bridge to the sound of Bach's Fugue (Bach/Busoni: Fugue BWV 543) and to the captivating sight of the Esma Sultan Palace where he interprets Bach's "Chaconne in D minor".

Say gives an open-air concert for friends - the first movement of Beethoven's "Appassionata" (which is promptly interrupted by the loud chanting of the muezzin); then he becomes the private person again, playing his own personal version of Mozart's "Rondo alla turca" at his home together with a friend, Sertab Erener, the Queen of Turkish and international pop music, who enjoyed a classical singing education.

The path of our film, in which music and views of town and countryside flow correspondingly together, now takes us out of the pulsating metropolis of Istanbul to the sounds of Fazil Say's composition "Black Earth" and through the fantastic scenery of Anatolia to Aspendos.
Finally, here in the Roman amphitheatre on a warm summer's evening, Say's oratorio "Nazim" - a homage to the Turkish poet Nazim Hikmet - is performed to an audience of thousands from all walks of life.

A very personal film on the very affable pianist and composer Fazil Say has been created, a man who very frankly and competently gives account on the artistic and private challenges of his life.

One cannot escape the ban of Fazil Say's skill and uncompromising enthusiasm for music and one recognizes indeed that the Orient and the Occident match well together.

Camera:
Günther Uttendorfer
Chris Rowe

Sound:
Jan Wichers

Cut:
Stefan Gagstetter

Translation:
Ali Yildirim

Organisation Istanbul:
Ömür Kula
Hnade Versat

Sound Mix:
Uli Aumüller

Producer:
Hanne Kaisik

Editorial Staff ZDF/arte:
Christopher Janssen

Fazil Say - Alla Turca 42:00 min

Portrait des Starpianisten zwischen Orient und Okzident - Film von Gösta Courkamp

Fazil Say, Piano
Sertab Erener, Gesang
Bilkent Symphonie Orchester, Ankara

Das Ansehen und die internationale Reputation des Pianisten Fazil Say haben sich rasant entwickelt - er hat den Sprung vom Wunderkind zum international erfolgreichen Star geschafft und die französische Zeitung "Le Figaro" attestierte ihm: "Er ist nicht nur ein genialer Pianist, er wird zweifellos einer der großen Künstler des 21. Jahrhunderts sein".

Unglaubliche Kraft und absolute technische Perfektion zeichnen ihn aus. Say ist ein "Charakterkopf", wie er nur selten auf dem klassischen Markt zu finden ist und Begabung ist ihm im Übermaß geschenkt.

Die Türkei ist auf dem Weg nach Europa. Und in der anderen Richtung darf man Fazil Say als Botschafter für klassische Musik in der Türkei verstehen. Er bringt Bach und Beethoven nach Anatolien, er komponiert Musik, in der klassische Einflüsse, aber auch türkische Folklore und jazzige Elemente verschmelzen und: Er füllt mit seinen Konzerten und eigenen Kompositionen Säle und Arenen mit Tausenden von Zuschauern - ein Phänomen, das wiederum in Europa kaum noch in dieser Form vorstellbar ist.

Fazil Say hat uns in seine Heimat eingeladen und wir begleiten ihn eine Zeit - zu den Klängen von Bachs Fuge (Bach/Busoni "Fuge" BWV 543) über die Brücke des Bosporus in die berückende Kulisse des Esma Sultan Palais wo er Bachs "Chaconne in d-Moll" interpretiert.

Say gibt unter freiem Himmel ein Konzert für Freunde - Beethovens "Appassionata" (1. Satz) (und wird prompt vom schallenden Ruf des Muezzin unterbrochen) -, dann ist er wieder ganz privat und spielt zuhause mit einer Freundin, der im klassischen Gesang ausgebildeten Sertab Erener, der "Queen" der türkischen und internationalen Popmusik eine ganz eigene Version von Mozarts "Rondo alla turca".

Unser filmischer Weg, bei welchem stets Musik, Stadt- und Landschaftsaufnahmen korrespondierend ineinander fließen, führt uns nun aus der pulsierenden Metropole Istanbul zu den Klängen von Fazil Says Komposition "Black Earth" durch die traumhafte Landschaft Anatoliens nach Aspendos.
Hier wird schließlich im römischen Amphitheater in einer warmen Sommernacht vor Tausenden von Zuschauern aus allen Schichten der Bevölkerung Says Oratorium "Nazim" - eine Huldigung an den türkischen Dichter Nazim Hikmet aufgeführt.

Entstanden ist ein sehr persönlicher Film über den überaus sympathischen Pianisten und Komponisten Fazil Say, welcher sehr offen und fundiert zu den künstlerischen und privaten Herausforderungen seines Lebens Stellung bezieht.

Man kann sich Fazil Says Können und seiner kompromißlosen Begeisterung für die Musik nicht entziehen und erkennt, daß Orient und Okzident gut zueinander passen.

Kamera:
Günther Uttendorfer
Chris Rowe

Ton:
Jan Wichers

Schnitt:
Stefan Gagstetter

Übersetzung:
Ali Yildirim

Organisation Istanbul:
Ömür Kula
Hnade Versat

Tonmischung:
Uli Aumüller

Produktionsleitung:
Hanne Kaisik

Redaktion ZDF/arte:
Christopher Janssen